License Testing
Our Enumclaw office provides the Department of Licensing (DOL) Knowledge exam (written test) and the Skills test (drive test) for everyone's driver license or permit needs, both of which are required for a driver license. Once both tests are passed, scores are entered in the Washington State Department of Licensing system, and participants can visit a Department of Licensing location to obtain their official driver license.
Rules of the Road Testing Charges:
Payment for testing is due at the time of scheduling. ​

Bundle (both Knowledge & Skills)  ​​ $75​​ Purchase both the Knowledge and Skills tests and receive a "bundle" discount of $5.
Buy Now
 ​​ Knowledge Test $35​​
Buy Now
 ​​ Skills Test $45​​
Buy Now
RORDS Vehicle Usage$35   Need a car to use for the test? If you do not have a car of your own to use for your drive test, you may use a RORDS vehicle (for the test only). Parent signature required for anyone under 18.  ​​
Buy Now
​1-Hour Private Drive lesson: $110 This is a private drive lesson with a state certified instructor/examiner & includes the use of an instruction vehicle. The driver MUST have a valid permit to schedule a private drive lesson.  Refer to our "Private Lesson" page for more information. 
Buy Now
 Rescheduling: $20- We require 24 hours notice prior to rescheduling an appointment. If less then 24 hours is given, a rescheduling service charge will be added to the applicants account. This charge must be paid prior to rescheduling any further appointment. This service charge may also apply if an applicant is not properly prepared for their scheduled exam (Knowledge or Skills test).
Acceptable forms of payment include: Cash or Credit/Debit Card (Checks are NOT accepted  for licensing testing)
ALL SERVICE CHARGES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE! 


Scheduling an Appointment 

All of our testing is done by appointment only. You may schedule an appointment in person at our office OR via phone. Please know that payment is required at the time of scheduling.    Photo Identification (Photo & name of applicant) is required at the time of a scheduled appointment. Examples of acceptable identification:  Washington State ID cardPassportASB CardPhoto Instruction Permit,  Out of State IDPrevious Driver License, ETC. We  will not provide any test without photo identification.

Knowledge Test (Written Test)

  • ​The Knowledge test must be taken and passed in order to qualify to take the Skills (drive) test and obtain a Washington State Driver License. 
  • The Knowledge test consists of 40 multiple-choice questions about traffic safety laws. Applicants must answer at least 32 questions correctly in order to pass the test. Questions from the Knowledge test are derived from the Washington Drive Guide. You may pick up a Drive Guide from your local DOL office or click on this  LINK  to access an online version. 
  • Knowledge test scores are valid for 2 years. After 2 years, they will expire and the test must be taken again. 
  • The Knowledge test will be offered at daily/flexible times at our Enumclaw office location. For more information contact us at (253) 880-6758. 
  • Payment is required at the time of scheduling. Your license number, which is provided at the time of pre-applying, is required at the time of scheduling.
  • Due to scheduling time restraints, an applicant will be allotted 45 minutes to take the Knowledge (Written) Test. After 45 minutes, the test will be stopped by the examiner and graded as is. If an applicant desires more than 45 minutes to complete the Knowledge test, the extra time must be scheduled prior to sitting for the exam. 
  • Knowledge test scores will be reported electronically to the Department of Licensing within 24 hours of the test being completed.
  • Passing the Knowledge test does not guarantee that an applicant will be issued a permit or driver license. The Department of Licensing will determine if an applicant has met all licensing requirements. The Department of Licensing reserves the right to retest applicants who complete tests through Rules of the Road Driving School.

Testing for an Instruction Permit

Eligibility for an Instruction Permit at 15 Years old​​
  • At age 15, a student may be issued an instruction permit only if that student is enrolled in a driver education course. 
  • 10 days prior to the start date of the enrolled program, ​a Permit Waiver will be issued that will "temporarily" waive the Knowledge test until the program has been completed.
Eligibility for an Instruction Permit 15 1/2 & Older
  • Be at least 15 1/2 years old
  • Applicant must pre-apply online with the Department of Licensing to obtain a Driver License Number (DLN) (See steps below). OR provide us with an already issued license number (WA State ID or previous WA license).
  • Pass the WA State Knowledge test with an 80% or higher.
  • Visit a Department of Licensing with the following documents:  Washington DLN,  Original or certified copy of a birth certificatesocial security number $25.

Steps to pre-apply online and obtain your Washington Driver License Number (DLN):

  1. Click on this link:  https://secure.dol.wa.gov/home/
  2. Click "Join Now."
  3. Follow the directions and complete online application.
  4. Please print out or write down the Washington Driver License Number (DLN) and provide it when you come in to schedule an appointment for the Knowledge test (Knowledge tests must be passed before applicants can take a Skills (drive) test). You can also call to schedule an appointment and pay with a credit card or pay on-line with our PayPal link above. Payment is required at time of scheduling.
  5. We  MUST have an applicant's DLN PRIOR to providing any testing.  No exceptions.
  (Skills Test (Drive Test
  • ​After passing the Knowledge exam, all applicants must then pass the Skills exam to be eligible for a Washington State Driver License. ​
  • The Skills test will test applicants’ ability to drive legally and safely. Applicants must pass the Skills test with a score of 80 or better out of 100 possible points. Check out this FORM for an outline of what to expect during the Skills test.
  • The Skills test will be conducted in the applicants vehicle. If the applicant does not have a vehicle to use for the Skills test, they may use a Rules of the Road vehicle for the drive test only. A $35 car use charge must be paid and a liability form must be signed prior to the test (Parent signature required for any applicant under 18 years old). 
  • The following requirements must be met if the applicant elects to use their own vehicle for the Skills test:
-- All brake lights must work (including 3rd brake light).
-- All turn signals must work.
-- Head lights must work.
-- Seat belts must function and be used.
-- License plates must be on  front and  back of vehicle with current tabs on rear plate.
-- Current registration must be presented. 
-- A valid insurance card must be presented at the time of testing (examiner may verify insurance with carrier).
-- Windshield must not be cracked or chipped in the line of vision.
-- Tires must meet state requirements for tire tread (no bald tires).  
-- If raining, windshield wipers must function and the defroster system must work properly to defog the windows.
--Driver side window must roll down far enough to use hand signals. 
--Emergency brake (parking brake) must be functioning. 
  • Failure to meet the above vehicle requirements, at the time of a scheduled Skills test, will result with an appointment rescheduling charge of $20.
  • Scores for the Skills test will be reported to the Department of Licensing electronically within 24 hours. Passing the Skills test does not guarantee that an applicant will be issued a driver license. The Department of Licensing will determine if an applicant has met all licensing requirements. The Department of Licensing reserves the right to retest applicants who complete tests through Rules of the Road Driving School. 
Eligibility to take the Skills test 15 to 17 years old 
  • Have completed a Driver Education Course and received a certificate of completion.
  • Must have passed the Knowledge Exam within the last 2 years (either at the RORDS licensing office, Department of Licensing or through a state certified Driving School).
  • ​All testing charges must be paid at the time of scheduling. Cash or Credit card only, Checks are not accepted.
ALL SERVICE CHARGES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE
ELIGIBILITY TO TAKE THE SKILLS TEST 18 & OLDER
  • Passed the Knowledge exam within the last 2 years (either at the RORDS Licensing office, DOL or through a state certified Driving School).
  • All testing charges must be paid at the time of scheduling. Cash or Credit card only. No checks accepted. 
ALL SERVICE CHARGES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 

Applicants who have a physical or mental impairment that may affect their ability to safely operate a motor vehicle must be referred to a Department of Licensing Service Office (DOL) for their Skills test. WAC 308-110-030 (7) Examples of impairments:
  • Limited Strength or Mobility: Inability to operate foot controls with left and right foot, diminished arm and/or hand strength, limited neck mobility resulting in inability to look over their shoulder to check the vehicle's blind spot.
  • Artificial Limbs/loss of limbs: loss of Limb(s) or using a prosthetic arm/leg.
  • Paralysis: Inability or difficulty operating hand and/or foot controls due to paralysis in limb(s).
  • Severe Tremors: Difficulty controlling the steering wheel, difficulty maintaining consistent pressure on the gas or brake pedal.
  • Temporary Impairments: Cast on arms or legs, recent injury or surgery that may impair the customer's driving ability 
  • Mental limitations: significant mental slowness, impaired attention and/or impaired concentration that may impair a customer's judgment, attention, knowledge or skill necessary to safely operate a motor vehicle

Obtianing a Washington State Driver License 

Eligibility for a Driver License at 15 years old
  • At age 15, a student may take the Knowledge and Skills test ONLY after successfully completing a driver education course (Proof of completion required).
  • Once the Knowledge and Skills test have been passed, the applicant must wait until they are a minimum of  16 years old & have had their instruction permit for a minimum of  6 months before applying for the driver license. 
Eligibility for a Driver License ​at 15 1/2 - 17 years
  • At age 15 1/2 to 17 years old, a Knowledge test may be taken without being enrolled in a driver education course. 
  • A Skills test to obtain a driver license may  NOT be taken until a driver education course has been completed (Proof of completion required) OR the applicant turns 18 years old.
  • ​If a course has been completed, a Skills test may be scheduled.
  • To obtain the driver license, the applicant must be a minimum of  16 years old and have had their permit for a minimum of  6 months
Eligibility for a Driver License at 18 & older
  • Pass the Knowledge and Skills Test
  • Visit a Department of Licensing.

Skip your trip to DOL

You may be eligible to skip your trip to a DOL office and apply for your Washington State Driver License online! Check out the below requriements:
  1. Passed a Driver Education Course
  2. Have a valid Washington State Permit with a photo on it
  3. Passed the Knowledge and Skills test
  4. Be at least 16 years old
  5. If under 18, must have had a valid instruction permit for a ful l 6 months. 

If you meet all the above criteria, click HERE to apply for your Washington State Driver License online!